Herd Competition


We are now accepting entries from SWHA members for the 2022 Herd Competition, to take place in July/August and will be judged by the 2021 winners in each category.

If you would like to enter, please reply stating how many breeding cows you have in your herd. (Registered and calved females)

As usual, there will be three sections:

Small herd : Under 15 breeding cows, Medium Herd 15 to 35 breeding cows, Large Herd Over 35 breeding cows or equally divided as the judge sees fit. Awards are for Best Stock Bull, Best Heifer Calf, and Best Bull Calf in each class. This year is the National Competition (run bi-annually) so our overall winner will go forward to be judged again for the best National Herd. Rules are available on the website.

Trophies and prizes will be awarded at the A.G.M. later in the year. Including
The entry fee for the Herd Competition is £20.00. Entries close 30th June
S.W.H.A. BACS DETAILS : Sort code 30-91-20 A/C No. 00611783. Please use your surname and/or your Hereford Society Membership Number as a reference.

CHEQUES payable to South Western Hereford Association. Post to SWHA Secretary. Angela Kerslake, Nicholashayne Farm, Sampford Arundel, Wellington, Somerset. TA21 9QY


Herd Completion Results 2021
(Kindly judged by Philip Allman)

Large Herd

1 Cato Herd – JD & RA Moorhouse
2 Trelissick Herd – GHA & Mrs MU Faull
3 Spyway Herd – Paul & Trish Earley

Best Stock Bull – GHA & Mrs MU Faull
Best Bull Calf – PR & CA Caunter
Best Heifer Calf – JD & RA Moorhouse



1 Lanscombe Herd – RA Mitchell
2 Hilfield Herd – M Harris
3 Velleyhill Herd –  R Robinson

Best Stock Bull – RA Mitchell
Best Bull Calf – M Harris
Best Heifer Calf – RA Mitchell



1 Baybridge Herd – L Gould
2 Clarence – J & G Burgess
3 Gilmar Herd – G Simpson

Best Stock Bull – L Gould
Best Bull Calf – L Gould
Best Heifer Calf – L Gould


Novice (kindly judged by Jonathan Moorhouse)

1 Farmlay Herd – E Layzell
2 Kingshedge Herd – A J Calloway

Best Stock Bull – A J Calloway


Overall Best Herd to be judged for the National Competition

Lanscombe Herd – RA Mitchell
Reserve: Hilfield Herd – M Harris